We occasionally have to reset our smartphones due to various issues, including software bugs and performance issues.
But what about your phone number when you factory reset your phone? Does factory resetting delete the contents on your SIM card and your phone number?
Does factory reset delete your phone number?
A factory reset won’t delete your phone number. When you factory reset your smartphone, it simply resets your storage drive and deletes your content on this storage without affecting your SIM card. Your phone number is associated with your SIM card. Therefore, a factory reset has no effect on your phone number.
Do you have to reactivate your SIM card after a factory reset?
You don’t have to reactivate your SIM card after a factory reset. If you have already activated your SIM card, it will still be activated after the factory reset.
As we explained before, factory resetting has nothing to do with your SIM card. It simply erases the content on your storage drive and resets the phone to factory conditions. Your activated SIM card won’t get affected by a factory reset.
Does factory resetting delete your phone’s eSIM?
When you reset your iPhone or Android phone, you have the option to delete or not delete your eSIMs. If you choose to delete eSIMs, eSIMs will be deleted after the factory reset and you have to add them again.
On the other hand, if you choose not to delete the eSIMs, eSIMs will still be there after the factory reset.
Is it ok to factory reset your phone with the SIM card inside?
It is perfectly okay to factory reset your phone while the SIM card is inside. A factory reset won’t affect the content on your SIM card. Therefore, having the SIM card inside during a factory reset won’t delete its contents.
Does factory reset delete the contacts on the SIM card?
Factory resetting won’t affect the contacts stored on your phone’s SIM card. As we explained before, a factory reset will only delete the contents on the storage drive. It won’t affect your SIM card contacts or any other data stored on the SIM card.
Does factory reset delete your contacts stored on the phone storage?
Factory resettings will wipe out all the contacts stored on the phone’s storage. Therefore, make sure to back up your contacts to cloud services like iCloud or Google Drive before resetting the phone.
A factory reset won’t delete your phone number. Factory reset only affects the contents stored on your phone’s storage drive. It won’t affect the contents of your physical SIM card in any way.
On the other hand, you have the option to delete or not to delete your eSIM cards when you factory reset your phone.